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TO: Members of the State Board of Education
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FROM:  Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D. KB
DATE: July 26, 2016
SUBJECT: Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 13A.05.12.01-.03

Hearing Aid Loan Bank (HALB)
(NEW) PERMISSION TO PUBLISH

PURPOSE:

To request permission to publish new regulations that govern the administration of the Hearing
Aid Loan Bank (HALB) (ATTACHMENT I).

REGULATION PROMULGATION PROCESS:

Under Maryland law, a state agency, such as the State Board, may propose a new or amended
regulation whenever the circumstances arise to do so. After the State Board votes to propose
such a regulation, the proposed regulation is sent to the AELR Committee for a 15-day review
period. If the AELR Committee does not hold up the proposed regulation for further review, it is
published in the Maryland Register for a 30-day public comment period. At the end of the
comment period, MSDE staff reviews and summarizes the public comments. Thereafter, MSDE
staff will present a recommendation to the State Board of Education to either: (1) adopt the
regulation in the form it was proposed; or (2) revise the regulation and adopt it as final because
the suggested revision is not a substantive change; or (3) revise the regulation and re-propose it
because the suggested revision is a substantive change. At any time during this process, the
AELR Committee may stop the promulgation process and hold a hearing. Thereafter, it may
recommend to the Governor that the regulation not be adopted as a final regulation or the AELR
Committee may release the regulation for final adoption.

BACKGROUND/HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE:
In 2011, the General Assembly established a permanent Hearing Aid Loan Bank (HALB) in the

Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE). The purpose of the HALB was to lend
hearing aids on a temporary basis to a parent or legal guardian of an eligible child (under age 3)
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to ensure he or she would have maximum auditory input during the critical period of language
learning. In April 2016, Governor Larry Hogan signed into law House Bill 596, which expands
eligibility for the HALB to Maryland children from birth to age 18. The State Board is
authorized to adopt implementing regulations, including regulations that: 1) identify the types of
documents that may be required to prove eligibility; and 2) establish factors to consider when
evaluating whether a parent or legal guardian has the financial means to obtain immediate access
to another hearing aid or is making reasonable efforts to obtain another hearing aid.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

The purpose of this new chapter of regulations is to implement Education Article §§ 8-601- 8-
606, Annotated Code of Maryland, which established the HALB. To prove eligibility, a parent
or legal guardian would be required to submit a request on a form developed by the MSDE that
includes: 1) the child’s residential address; 2) a copy of a hearing evaluation from a licensed
audiologist; 3) a copy of a medical clearance from an otolaryngologist; 4) a statement from the
family explaining why it is experiencing delays in acquiring hearing aids or otherwise needs a
loan; and 5) the child’s date of birth. In evaluating a request for an extension of the loan period,
the MSDE would consider the following factors: 1) insurance coverage or Medical Assistance
eligibility; 2) the circumstances that necessitated the loan; 3) the family’s plan to obtain access to
another hearing aid; and 4) the number of previous extensions granted to the child.

ACTION:

I request permission to publish new regulations as COMAR 13A.05.12.01-.03 for public
comment.

Attachment



ATTACHMENT I

134.05.12

.01 Purpose

The purpose of this chapter is to implement Education Article §§8-601 — 8-606,

Annotated Code of Maryland, which establishes a Hearing Aid Loan Bank within the
Department for the purpose of lending hearing aids on a temporary basis to a parent or legal
guardian of an eligible child to ensure maximum auditory input for language learning.

.02 Eligibility

A child is an eligible child if the child meets the eligibility criteria set forth in Education

Article §8-601.

.03 Administration

A.

B.

C.

Application. A parent or legal guardian of an eligible child shall submit a request for a

loan of hearing aids on a form developed by the Department that includes:

(1) The child’s residential address;

(2) A copy of the child's hearing evaluation from a licensed audiologist;

(3) A copy of the child's medical clearance for hearing aids from an otolaryngologist,

(4) A statement from the parent or legal guardian explaining why the family is
experiencing delays in acquiring hearing aids or needs a loan of hearing aids; and

(3) The child’s date of birth.

Loan Period. Except as provided in §C of this regulation, the Department may approve a
loan of hearing aids for a period of not more than 6 months.

Loan Extension.
(1) On the request of a parent or legal guardian, the Department may extend a loan of
hearing aids for additional 3-month periods.
(2) Prior to each extension period, the Department shall consider the following factors to
determine whether to extend the loan:
(a) Insurance coverage or Medical Assistance eligibility;
(b) The circumstances that necessitated the loan of hearing aids;
(c) The parent or legal guardian’s plan to obtain access to another hearing aid;
and

(d) The number of previous extensions granted to the child.



